Every dragon has a weakness… a true hunter does not

Hunting my way up to Ceadeus


It’s kind of strange how the newest part of Monster Hunter is way different from the previous games. Not just the game mechanics, but also the multiplayer-experience. It’s different from the PSP-parts where you would physically sit together with your hunter-companions, hunt huge monsters and shout stuff like “go for the tail, GO FOR THE FRICKIN’ TAIL!!”. You would compare your cool armors and weapons and discuss hunting-strategies together before facing a bloodthirsty beast. Now you just go online, complete some quests, craft better armor and weapons and that’s about it. I was really looking forward to being able to online again (like in the very first Monster Hunter game), but i have to admit it has its downsides too.

Anyway. Lately I’ve been playing offline a lot to get enough money and some decent armor and weapon to face Jhen Mohran in the Town Quest. The gear I got while playing online is pretty okay, so I didn’t face too many problems so far, even though I have to admit that Rathalos was quite a pain in the ass as I forgot to take flash bombs with me. Uragaan on the other hand was actually quite easy to take down. Anyway, I have now completed all the major key quests and am allowed to face Ceadeus in the Underwarter Ruins. Any advice for weapons or armor that is suited for the job?

6 responses

  1. Shockwave

    I don’t have the game, but will be buying it soon, however I already researched most information there is and keep on updating. I’d recomend Lagiarcus Spear path, anyone between Doris Fellspear, and Amphitrite.

    May 13, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    • I hadn’t considered using a Lance yet. I’ll be sure to check out some tutorials on how to take Ceadeus down with one of those. Thx for the advice!

      May 13, 2010 at 10:40 pm

      • Finch

        If you wan to take the time to grind for it you can mine for Undertaker (from rustshard from volcano mining). It has really high damage with a large amount of dragon damage. (368 raw and 250 dragon). Also bring some small barrel bombs and large barrel bomb plusses those will help A LOT. Finally when you get to the final area do not forget to use the dragonator.

        May 8, 2011 at 1:03 am

  2. MH3 Lone Wolf

    I actually don’t really know,my HR is only 12. But,I would highly recommend you bring underrwater armor. (duhhh) I would also go on this website,it is great for anything monster hunter. You should go to MH3/Monsters/Monster List and then look for Ceadeus. Do some research on it,and find what it’s weaknesses is. Let’s say it’s fire,then you would bring an Aganktor weapon. Get what I mean??? Ok enough wasting time,just go to the website. Good luck with Ceadeus!! 😉 http://monsterhunter.wikia.com/wiki/Monster_Hunter_Wiki

    May 31, 2010 at 1:09 am

  3. miguel aquino_15

    is ceadeus a high rank quest????? i haven’t got my hands on the high rank quests because i’ve benn studying hard lately…… pls. leave a reply!^_^

    February 7, 2011 at 7:36 am

    • Falcor lvl 68

      Ceadeus is not high ramk as he is offline

      May 19, 2011 at 2:46 am

Leave a Reply

